2019 Canadian Statutory Holidays

The next holiday is Christmas Day in 11 days.

Read about holidays in Canada in 2019 on the page below and feel free to send in your message related to Canadian stat holidays in the comments section.

2019 will be a very straightforward year as far as holidays are concerned: none of the major holidays are on a weekend. Canada Day, for example, has caused a lot of confusion in the past two years when it fell on a weekend. This time, however, it's on a Monday, which makes for a very convenient three day long weekend!

Easter will be rather late: Good Friday in 2019 is April 19 and Easter Sunday is April 21.

Remembrance Day will also be a Monday, which will no doubt rekindle the discussion about its inconsistent statutory holiday status across the country especially in Ontario where many people won't be able to attend ceremonies because Remembrance Day is still not a stat holiday.

Christmas in 2019 will be on a Wednesday and Boxing Day will be on a Thursday. What is your Christmas holiday strategy? How to make the most of the holidays while using the least amount of vacation days? Share your thoughts about this below.

New Year's Day is a Tuesday, so you have to save up one last vacation day for Dec 31st in order enjoy an uninterrupted winter holiday.

Note: in 2019 Family Day will be moved a week later in BC so it will be aligned with Family Day celebrated in other provinces.

Read about the new proposed holiday to remember residential schools.


List of Canadian holidays in 2019


Holiday Date in 2019 Observance
New Year's Day January 1, Tuesday National
Islander Day February 18, Monday PEI
Louis Riel Day February 18, Monday MB
Heritage Day February 18, Monday NS
Family Day February 18, Monday BC, AB, SK, ON, NB
Valentine's Day February 14, Thursday Not a stat holiday
Leap Day Not a leap year -
St. Patrick's Day March 17, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Good Friday April 19, Friday National except QC
Easter Monday April 22, Monday QC
Mother's Day May 12, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Victoria Day May 20, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Father's Day June 16, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Aboriginal Day June 21, Friday NWT
St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24, Monday QC
Canada Day July 1, Monday National
Civic Holiday August 5, Monday AB, BC, SK, ON, NB, NU
Labour Day September 2, Monday National
Thanksgiving October 14, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Halloween October 31, Thursday Not a holiday
Remembrance Day November 11, Monday National except MB, ON, QC, NS
Christmas Day December 25, Wednesday National
Boxing Day December 26, Thursday ON

2019 is not a leap year. The next leap year will be 2020.

Most school boards in 2019 start the shoolyear on September 3 - a day after Labour Day.

Daylight saving time in 2019 starts on Sunday, March 10 and ends on Sunday, November 3.

Download the 2019 holiday calendar in a PDF format or view it as a printer-friendly page.

Holiday poll

Tell us how you would change Canada's holiday system an what changes you would like to see to our convoluted stat holiday rules.


Share your holiday story, idea or comments

Send in your comments, tips and ideas about holidays in Canada for 2019

Post your comments

Recent comments
Posted by Scott:

Victoria Day and Thanksgiving Day are not stat holidays in PEI either.

Posted by Peter Beckett:

Why can't just all holidays be defined like Labour Day where it's the first Monday of a given month? That way we could keep it all in mind ever year!

Posted by Admin:

2019 Canada holidays page is now live!

View all comments

Feedback & ideas