Statutory holidays in Newfoundland

In Newfoundland and Labrador, pursuant to The Shops Closing Act, there are 10 "shops closing holidays". These are days in which businesses in wholesale and retail (other than exempt shops) must close to the public. They are not necessarily paid days and we do not consider them as "statutory". Other businesses may choose to close on these days as well, however, they are not required to do so.

There is also a civic day in certain cities and municipalities which is observed pursuant to The Shops Closing Act. These civic days are not "paid days off" either.

With respect to paid public holidays, pursuant to The Labour Standards Act, there are only 6. They are New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Canada Day (Memorial Day), Labour Day, Remembrance Day and Christmas Day. There is nothing preventing businesses from paying for additional days, however, they are not required to pay for more than the 6 as stated above.

Feedback & ideas