Statutory holidays in British Columbia 2019 and 2020

There are 5 nationwide and 5 provincial holidays in BC plus Easter Monday, which is a bank holiday and commemorated by federal employees only.

The five provincial holidays are Family Day, Victoria Day, British Columbia Day, Thanksgiving and Remembrance Day. British Columbia Day is observed on the first Monday in August similar to civic holidays in other provinces.

Boxing Day is not an official holiday in BC but Remembrance Day is.

Starting in 2019 Family Day will be observed on the third Monday of February (used to be the second Monday) to coincide with Family Day and other holidays elsewhere in Canada.

Cottage facts: BC is the 2nd biggest cottage-crazy province (called "cabins" in BC) in Canada after Ontario but the gap is closing between the two provinces every year. Because of its mountains many people prefer to rent a cabin in British Columbia during the summer holidays versus renting in Ontario.

Below are all stat holidays in BC for 2019 and 2020 including dates of observances:

Holiday 2019 2020
New Year's Day
January 1
Tue, January 1 Wed, January 1
Family Day
Mon, February 18 Mon, February 17
Good Friday
Friday before Easter Sunday
Fri, April 19 Fri, April 10
Easter Monday
Government employees only
Mon, April 22 Mon, April 13
Victoria Day
Monday before May 25
Mon, May 20 Mon, May 18
Canada Day
July 1
Mon, July 1 Wed, July 1
British Columbia Day
First Monday in August
* not an official stat holiday.
Mon, August 5 Mon, August 3
Labour Day
First Monday in September
Mon, September 2 Mon, September 7
Thanksgiving
Second Monday in October
Mon, October 14 Mon, October 12
Remembrance Day
November 11
Mon, November 11 Wed, November 11
Christmas Day
December 25
Wed, December 25 Fri, December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
* not an official stat holiday.
Thu, December 26 Sat, December 26

Pay eligibility and holiday payment

To get paid on a BC statutory holiday an employee must have been an employee for at least 30 days before the holiday out of which he/she must have earned wages for at least 15 days.

If an employee is required to work on a stat holiday he/she must be paid 1.5 x wages for the first 12 hours and 2 x wages afterwards in addition to the regular day's wage. Not a bad deal at all.

Go to the list of Canadian national stat holidays.

Feedback & ideas