2020 Canadian Statutory Holidays

The next holiday is Thanksgiving Day (except NB, NS, PE, NL) in 14 days.

On this page you will find general information and details about holidays in Canada for 2020.

Canada Day will be on Wednesday so this year you have to take two days off to celebrate a (very) long weekend.

Easter in 2020 is on April 10 (Good Friday) and Easter Sunday is on April 12 - approximately halfway between Family Day and Victoria Day.

Remembrance Day will be on a Wednesday and we expect, as in previous years, a heated debate in the comments section over the official holiday status of this day.

Christmas in 2020 is on a Friday with Boxing Day following on Saturday. Be sure to check with your employer if they plan to give a day in lieu of Saturday - especially if you don't normally work on Saturdays.

Although not an official holiday, Halloween is a popular celebration and this year it's finally on a Saturday so the little ones can stay out late and parents don't have to rush home early from work to be on time for trick or treating.

In 2020 the Olymic Games will be held in Tokyo Jul 24, 2020 - Aug 9, 2020 - if you plan to visit or watch, the Civic Holiday on August 3 this year.


List of Canadian holidays in 2020


Holiday Date in 2020 Observance
New Year's Day January 1, Wednesday National
Islander Day February 17, Monday PEI
Louis Riel Day February 17, Monday MB
Heritage Day February 17, Monday NS
Family Day February 17, Monday BC, AB, SK, ON, NB
Valentine's Day February 14, Friday Not a stat holiday
Leap Day Saturday, February 29 -
St. Patrick's Day March 17, Tuesday Not a stat holiday
Good Friday April 10, Friday National except QC
Easter Monday April 13, Monday QC
Mother's Day May 10, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Victoria Day May 21, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Father's Day June 21, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Aboriginal Day June 21, Sunday NWT
St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24, Wednesday QC
Canada Day July 1, Wednesday National
Civic Holiday August 3, Monday AB, BC, SK, ON, NB, NU
Labour Day September 7, Monday National
Thanksgiving October 12, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Halloween October 31, Saturday Not a holiday
Remembrance Day November 11, Wednesday National except MB, ON, QC, NS
Christmas Day December 25, Friday National
Boxing Day December 26, Saturday ON

New: proposed holiday to remember residential schools.

2020 is a leap year; the leap day in 2020 is on Saturday, February 29.

Most school boards in 2020 will start the shoolyear on September 8, a day after Labour Day.

Daylight saving time in 2020 starts on Sunday, March 8 and ends on Sunday, November 1.

Download the 2020 holiday calendar in a PDF format or view it as a printer-friendly page.

Simpler holiday rules?

Do you find the provincial exceptions too complicated to remember? How you would change Canada's convoluted holiday system?


Share your holiday story, idea or comments

Send in your comments, tips and ideas about holidays in Canada for 2020

Post your comments

Recent comments
Posted by When is family day?:

Family day is not usually the same day in Vancouver as in Hamilton,ON. I know this because we have family there we visit but this year it says above that it's the same day. Is this correct?

View all comments

Feedback & ideas