Alberta Statutory Holidays 2017 and 2018

Here is the list of stat holidays in Alberta that are different from the national holidays in Canada celebrated across the country.

  • Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in Alberta but many non-retail businesses treat it such.
  • Remembrance Day is observed in Alberta.
  • Family day, third Monday of February, is a statutory holiday
  • Boxing Day is optional - ask your HR department or boss about it
  • Heritage Day, first Monday of August, is officially not a statutory holiday but some people and businesses take the day off anyway. This is the equivalent of Civic Holiday in other parts of Canada.

Site usage stats and search history for the keyword "statutory holiday Canada" show that the residents of Alberta are more interested in learning about their stat holidays than people in other parts of the country. Albertans are also more likely to search for "Alberta statutory holidays" than other provinces for holidays in their respective regions.

Alberta statutory holidays for 2017 and 2018:

Holiday 2017 2018
New Year's Day
January 1
Sun, January 1 Mon, January 1
Alberta Family Day
Third Monday in February
Mon, February 20 Mon, February 19
Good Friday
Friday before Easter Sunday
Fri, April 14 Fri, March 30
Easter Monday *
Government employees only
Mon, April 17 Mon, April 2
Victoria Day
Monday before May 25
Mon, May 22 Mon, May 21
Canada Day
July 1
Sat, July 1 Sun, July 1
Heritage Day **
First Monday in August
Mon, August 7 Mon, August 6
Labour Day
First Monday in September
Mon, September 4 Mon, September 3
Thanksgiving
Second Monday in October
Mon, October 9 Mon, October 8
Remembrance Day
November 11
Sat, November 11 Sun, November 11
Christmas Day
December 25
Mon, December 25 Tue, December 25
Boxing Day *
December 26
Tue, December 26 Wed, December 26

* For banks and government offices only.

Go to the overview list of national and provincial holidays in Canada.

Feedback & ideas