Statutory holidays in British Columbia

There are 5 nationwide and 4 provincial holidays in BC plus Easter Monday, which is a bank holiday and commemorated by federal employees only.

The four provincial holidays are Victoria Day, British Columbia Day, Thanksgiving and Remembrance Day. British Columbia Day is observed on the first Monday in August similar to civic holidays in other provinces.

Boxing Day is not an official holiday in BC but Remembrance Day is. Family day is a new statutory holiday in BC as of 2013.

Cottage facts: BC is the 2nd biggest cottage-crazy province (called "cabins" in BC) in Canada after Ontario but the gap is closing between the two provinces every year. Because of its mountains many people prefer to rent a cottage in British Columbia during the summer holidays versus renting in Ontario.

Here is a list of stat holidays in BC for 2014 and 2015 including dates of observances:

Holiday 2014 2015
New Year's Day
January 1
Wed, January 1 Thu, January 1
BC Family Day
Second Monday in February
Mon, February 10 Mon, February 9
Good Friday
Friday before Easter Sunday
Fri, April 18 Fri, April 3
Easter Monday *
Government employees only
Mon, April 21 Mon, April 6
Victoria Day
Monday before May 25
Mon, May 19 Mon, May 18
Canada Day
July 1
Tue, July 1 Wed, July 1
British Columbia Day *
First Monday in August
Mon, August 4 Mon, August 3
Labour Day
First Monday in September
Mon, September 1 Mon, September 7
Thanksgiving
Second Monday in October
Mon, October 13 Mon, October 12
Remembrance Day
November 11
Tue, November 11 Wed, November 11
Christmas Day
December 25
Thu, December 25 Fri, December 25
Boxing Day *
December 26
Fri, December 26 Sat, December 26

* For federally regulated employers only, other employers are not required to give the day off.

Pay eligibility and holiday payment

To get paid on a BC statutory holiday an employee must have been an employee for at least 30 days before the holiday out of which he/she must have earned wages for at least 15 days.

If an employee is required to work on a stat holiday he/she must be paid 1.5 x wages for the first 12 hours and 2 x wages afterwards in addition to the regular day's wage. Not a bad deal at all.

Related links

Go to the list of Canadian national stat holidays.

List of Statutory Holidays British Columbia on the official British Columbia government's website and more details on legal issues.

View business listings and cities in British Columbia.

Feedback & ideas