Statutory Holidays in Ontario in 2015 and 2016

The following holidays are observed in addition to the national holidays in Canada: Family Day, Victoria Day, Civic Holiday, Thanksgiving and Boxing Day.

Remembrance Day is not a statutory holiday in Ontario, making it the most controversial non-stat holiday in the province. Many people think that is should be a statutory holiday all across Canada.

Civic Holiday on the first Monday of August is an optional holiday - provincially regulated employers are not required by law to give this day off. Most retail stores are open on the civic holiday across the province.

Holiday tip: If you live in or near Toronto be sure to visit High Park - it's a truly beautiful park in the heart of Toronto. Another great place to visit is Toronto Islands - a popular long weekend and holiday destination.

Ontario is the only province where Boxing Day is a provincial statutory holiday.

Below is a list of holidays in Ontario and dates when they are observed in 2015 and 2016.

Holiday 2015 2016
New Year's Day
January 1
Wed, January 1 Fri, January 1
Family Day
Third Monday in February
Mon, February 16 Mon, February 15
Good Friday
Friday before Easter Sunday
Fri, April 3 Fri, March 25
Easter Monday *
Government employees only
Mon, April 6 Mon, March 28
Victoria Day
Monday before May 25
Mon, May 18 Mon, May 23
Canada Day
July 1
Wed, July 1 Fri, July 1
Civic Holiday
First Monday in August
* not an official stat holiday.
Mon, August 3 Mon, August 1
Labour Day
First Monday in September
Mon, September 7 Mon, September 5
Thanksgiving Day
Second Monday in October
Mon, October 12 Mon, October 10
Christmas Day
December 25
Fri, December 25 Sun, December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Sat, December 26 Mon, December 26

* Only federal employers are required to give the day off.

In Ontario retail stores aren't permitted to be open on Easter Sunday. Certain exceptions apply but for the most part retail stores will be closed.

Feedback & ideas